Mojo Burger Review

LtFOXAWESOME
5 min readDec 29, 2022

--

This burger review is dedicated to Dylan, AKA Stunash. Thank you so much for being my burger king on this one and sponsoring this food. Go check out his organization that brings sponsorships to NA collegiate communities, Uconnect Esports, at https://linktr.ee/uconnectapp

Watch my live stream of Mojo Burger here:
https://www.twitch.tv/videos/1687243551

Burger (TLKonly+Bacon)

5.00/5.00

Spoilers — Mojo Burger is hands-down the best burger I’ve had in the SF Bay Area, and only second to my all-time favorite which is in the Denver Area. I literally have nothing bad to say about it; everything is just about perfect. The bun is perfectly lightly toasted, and it flattens out but keeps its integrity so I can fully mouth my burger without it dissipating or going too flat. The lettuce is shredded, crisp, and fresh. The tomato-the right thickness and right amount (one good slice is all I need; two and it’s almost too much). The ketchup is present and textured without being too little or too much, and dispersed evenly, without getting absorbed by the bun. The bacon is not exactly perfect, but it is near-perfect — crispy and a tiny fatty, deep-colored, and decently thick. Maaaybe I would have it slightly thicker and slightly crisper on its edges, but I’m being nitpicky here.

I almost feel like I have no words for how good the meat and cheese were. The meat patties were bursting with flavor but weren’t overpowering or heavy, and it was just the right amount of thickness and was perfectly cooked. The thick cheese has that old-school greasy flavor that was perfectly melty and meshed into the meat. I felt like I had a burger-gasm eating it. It was so good, it made me want to cry tears of j̶o̶y̶ ecstasy. I’ve been here several times and it’s always been consistent. I think I’ve said all I needed to say.

Fries

5.00/5.00

Spoilers — Mojo Burger fries are hands-down the best fries I’ve ever had. There is maybe one other place that might’ve been better, but unlike here, they’re not consistent and they’re a sit-down place rather than a fast-food or casual place. I totally forgot to take a picture of the Mojo fries — not only are they so good, but they’re unique too. I don’t know how they do it, but it’s almost got like extra ‘breading’ on its edges to create more crispiness and texture. I also suspect they may use the J Kenji science hack of using baking soda? That mouthfeel is amazing. I don’t know if I’m explaining that well which is why a photo would have been good. Anyway, they are the perfect thickness — not too thick, not too thin. It has that golden ratio of outside crispiness to inside soft but textured almost like mashed parts. Speaking of golden, the fries have perfect color and are perfectly cooked, and the flavor is so good that it doesn’t even need salt. If there is salt, it’s so well-integrated that I can’t see it or know it’s there.

The ranch was really good, and makes the perfect pairing in my opinion (not the kind I would use mayo/aioli or ketchup with).

Soda (Coca-Cola)

4.25/5.00

They don’t have my favorite soda, Dr Pepper :(

But at least they have Coke and not Pepsi (and Barq’s Root Beer is also an option). It was syrup-y and carbonate-y, but not too much. Just a normal fountain machine so I was glad to not see a Coke Freestyle one.

Leftovers

The meal I had was so good, I scarfed it all down and didn’t have any leftovers… If I have it in the future, I’ll edit this and add it in here!

Price

4.00/5.00

I’ve only had Mojo post-pandemic so I can’t speak to how it was priced originally, but during these tough economic times, the price still feels a little bit of a stretch. The total for the meal came out to $24.06 after tax. However, since they are perfect and consistent, I don’t mind shelling out that extra cash, especially for a ‘mom-and-pop’ place.

Service

4.50/5.00

There was no line when I went in. I’ve only ever seen a man and woman work there, who I presume is married and a ‘mom and pop.’ The pop usually takes my order and he always looks at me like I’m crazy when I greet him, but I’m assuming that he means well and that’s just how he is. I don’t think I’ve ever seen him look happy. Seems like a straight-shooter and just wants me to cut the small talk and get right to ordering and that’s okay. The woman is a lot more warm and jovial. She usually is the one to call out the name and hand out the food, which I got in five minutes. She made absolutely sure I had all that I needed which was sweet. I’ve never had any issues here. It seemed to pick up in traffic with a variety of people, even though I was there at off-hours on a weekday.

Ambiance

4.25/5.00

I’m a fan of places that don’t feel the need to be flashy or frivolous, but still show a little personality in small ways. The non-updated interior and furnishing give a slightly nostalgic feel, along with the window-markered menu item callouts. It looks like it got a fresh paint job, but with a weird pastel but bright blue and teal, totally mismatching the brick-colored floor. They have some outdoor seating so I always end up there. Like other places with a similar vibe, I feel right at home here.

Menu

I was surprised to see a tilapia burger, teriyaki and thai chili wraps, and rice bowl here. Guess I’ll try them at some point? lol

TL;DR:

Even just writing this review up makes me want to drive right over and get the meal again. I’m salivating at the thought of the next time I get the burger and fries again. I know I used the word ‘perfect’ a lot here, but the burger and fries really are perfect in every dimension. A no-frills place, I’m so appreciative of having a simple classic burger and fries perfected. I wish they had Dr Pepper and were a little cheaper, but that doesn’t really matter. Every part of the burger and every part of the fries were so good, I wanted to just melt. I could die happy.

Final Verdict: 5.00/5.00

Mojo Burger
1401 Foxworthy Ave
San Jose, CA 95118

--

--

LtFOXAWESOME

Scale, out of 5: 5.00 S Perfection; 4.75 A+ Masterpiece; 4.50 A Amazeballs; 4.25 A- Great; 4.00 B Good; 3.50 C+ Fine; 3.00 C Mediocre; 2.00 Trash; 1.00 Vomited